Motivation Monday


This post isn’t my normal funny story or even what we have been up to recently, however I have been tossing this topic around in my mind for a good month now so here we are. Maybe someone else needs this message as much I did. 

Psalm 143:8, “Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I entrust my life.” (NIV)

Sadly, for the past year and a half, give or take, all I’ve been looking for in the mornings is more sleep. Between staying up after everyone settles down for the night to finish whatever chore(s) I feel HAS to be done before I can sleep, getting up every 2/3 hours with Ellie Grace (yes, still) and just giving everyone all I have all day I’ve put myself on the back burner. I don’t pick up my bible as much as I should or spend much time in deep prayer, mostly they are short, sweet, and to the point asking for his grace in whatever situation or thanking him for his mercy when it arises. And it has left me rather worn out and empty feeling. And it’s like a domino effect from there, my patience is thinner, my attitude is worse, and I just continue to go until I absolutely can’t anymore. 

After walking in from a hectic afternoon at work to a chaotic house and needing to cook dinner when all I felt like doing was curling up in bed I decided to send Jimmy outside to play with the kids while I cooked so I could get a few minutes of quiet for myself. While waiting on water to boil I picked up my phone and surfed Facebook, that’s where I came across the image above. A sweet friend had shared it at just the right time not knowing I needed it. That’s when it hit me, if I wake up even 10 minutes earlier than the alarm and put time into myself (reading my bible, praying, getting that quiet I long for) then everything else will fall into place. 

I have let God fill my cup before I can fill anyone else’s. 

And the old saying comes to mind “You get what you give” and since I’m giving my minimum to God, I’m getting the minimum out of the relationship, out of my day. 

And that’s my motivation for you guys today. 
Happy Monday ❤️

Leave a Reply

